Space, Time and Consciousness

This project explores the relationships between space, time , and consciousness. It brings in work from the philosophy of mind, cognitive science, metaphysics, and the foundations of physics.  There are three subprojects: one on Space, one on Time, and one on Consciousness.

There will typically be two meetings of the project each year. To date there have been five meetings:

The Evolution and Function of Consciousness (NY, October 2012)
Subjectivism, Temporalism, and the Mind-Body Problem (NY, December 2012)
Consciousness and the Passage of Time (NY, October 2013)
Finding Space (Paris, June 2015)
Integrated Information Theory (NY, November 2015)

Project Members

Principal Investigator: David Chalmers (NYU)

  • David Albert (Columbia)
  • Kati Balog (Rutgers-Newark)
  • David Bennett (Brown)
  • Heather Berlin (Mount Sinai)
  • Ned Block (NYU)
  • Paul Boghossian (NYU)
  • Berit Brogaard (Miami)
  • Alex Byrne (MIT)
  • Sean Carroll (Caltech)
  • David Chalmers (NYU)
  • Barry Dainton (Liverpool)
  • Frederique de Vignemont (Jean-Nicod Institute)
  • Cian Dorr (NYU), Kit Fine (NYU)
  • Caspar Hare (MIT)
  • Hedda Hassel Morch (NYU)
  • Chris Hill (Brown)
  • Mark Johnston (Princeton)
  • Christof Koch (Caltech)
  • Geoff Lee (Berkeley)
  • Christian List (LSE)
  • Barry Loewer (Rutgers)
  • Beatrice Longuenesse (NYU)
  • Clare MacCumhaill (Durham)
  • Farid Masrour (Wisconsin)
  • Tim Maudlin (NYU)
  • Brian Mclaughlin (Rutgers)
  • Kelvin McQueen (Tel Aviv)
  • Carla Merino-Rajme (UNC)
  • Barbara Montero (CUNY)
  • John Morrison (Columbia)
  • Tom Nagel (NYU)
  • Alyssa Ney (UC Davis)
  • Claudia Passos (UFRJ)
  • Laurie Paul (UNC)
  • Adam Pautz (Texas)
  • Chris Peacocke (Columbia)
  • Ian Phillips (Oxford)
  • Jesse¬† Prinz (CUNY)
  • Howard Robinson (Central European University)
  • David Rosenthal (CUNY)
  • Susanna Schellenberg (Rutgers)
  • Susan Schneider (Connecticut)
  • Susanna Siegel (Harvard)
  • Jonathan Simon (NYU)
  • Lee Smolin (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics)
  • Max Tegmark (MIT)
  • Brad Thompson (SMU)
  • Giulio Tononi (Wisconsin)
  • Jonathan Vogel (Columbia)
  • Seth Yalcin (Berekely)
  • Dean Zimmerman (Rutgers)